UPA Wins the Match

The Congress-dominated ruling United Progresive Alliance has won a convincing victory in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections dealing a severe blow to the BJP’s National Democratic Alliance.

The Congress-led UPA has romped home in 262 constituencies compared to the 160 seats the BJP-led NDA took home.

Lok Sabha 2009 Election Results

Lok Sabha Election Results


Counting of votes for the recently concluded Lok Sabha (Lower House of India’s Parliament) elections in India will start in a short while.

Indian media reports suggest that the ruling United Progressive Alliance will emerge on top.

But the Indian electorate has a way of confounding the media pundits and pollsters.

Elections have also been held to the state Legislative Assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and Sikkim.

Related Stories:
Andhra Pradesh Assembly Election Results
Bhaiya, Aaramse Maar Meri Gaand
Dynasty Politics – Indian Style

3 Responses to "UPA Wins the Match"

  1. joeantony   May 17, 2009 at 2:26 am

    you should be happy about one factor here… the so called pro-ltte allie in tamil nadu was beaten by congress allies…. and vaiko himself lost ….

    time to take a beer buddy..

    SearchIndia.com Responds:

    Yeah, we’ve been doing that from our 24-pack Heineken. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. sumeshy   May 17, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    It is a total loss for India.

    Now we will never get of Dynasty politics and also at the same time, this sotha govt cud not protect india with so many terrorist attacks and at the same time,the PM could not even energize the country with a strong speech. once again this country showed that paisa pheko, vote kharido

    SearchIndia.com Responds:

    Dynasty Politics gets worse – Rahul Gandhi, Milind Deora, Sachin Pilot, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Deepender Hooda, Sandeep Dikshit, Varun Gandhi, M.K.Azhagiri, H.D.Kumaraswamy et al.

    Also, read this piece – 300 crorepati MPs as House gets richer.

    Here’s an excerpt from the TOI story:

    Members of the 15th Lok Sabha may not be too bothered about salary hikes for themselves. Not with as many as 300 crorepatis getting
    the people’s mandate this time รขโ‚ฌโ€ up 95% from 154 in the last Lok Sabha.

    ….The maximum number of crorepatis were found to be from Congress (137), followed by BJP (58), SP (14) and BSP (13). These parties are followed by DMK and Shiv Sena

  3. aditya_k   May 18, 2009 at 12:11 am

    CPM finally out of bengal after 32 years…..lets see what mamata banerjee does to WB now….

    SearchIndia.com Responds:

    But CPM still controls WB state assembly, right?

You must be logged in to post a comment Login